Point Reyes Night of Nights

During the annual "Night of Nights", historic Morse code radio station KPH returns to the air in commemoration of the closing of commercial Morse operation in the USA. On July 12, 1999, the last commercial Morse transmission in the U.S. was thought to have been broadcast at 5 pm PDT (13 July at 0000 GMT). Now the Maritime Radio Historical Society's station, KSM, carries on the tradition of tranmitting commercial Morse. Located in Point Reyes National Seashore, the RCA Coast Station returns to the air for commemorative broadcasts every year on July 12 at 5:01 pm PDT (13 July at 0001 GMT). Transmissions continue until at least midnight PDT (0700 GMT). Frequency and reception report information for all stations is available on the Maritime Radio Historical Society website. 

Members of the public are invited to visit the receiving station for this annual event held on July 12 from 3 pm to midnight at the Historic RCA Coast Station KPH at 17400 Sir Francis Drake Boulevard. Turn into the cypress-lined driveway on the right, 1 mile past the entry to U.S. Coast Guard Station NMC.